About Reading Abbey

About The Friends

Link to The Friends Facebook page:



The Friends of Reading Abbey

We aim to aid the preservation of the Ruins of the Abbey for the enjoyment of all, and to spread knowledge and public awareness of its history

Welcome to the website of the Friends of Reading Abbey. Here you can find information about the organisation and how to join us. We will also keep the front page updated with details of outings and other events organised for members.

Enquiries to the Friends' Secretary

The Friends' 2015 AGM was held on October 24th. An article about it can be seen here.

Nov. 2015. NCS Challenge visit Reading Abbey. Click here to see an article about the visit.
Nov. 2015. Reading Prison may be sold off after all.
Oct. 2015. Statue to Trooper Frederick Potts VC unveiled.
Oct. 2015. Reading Prison to remain as a closed prison indefinitely.
The bid for Heritage Lottery funding to conserve the Abbey Ruins was submitted on 1st September 2015. The result is due to be announced in January 2016.
The work on St Laurence churchyard wall was completed in August 2015.
Please see the Abbey Quarter Information page for details about these and other updates.

Please note: generic email addresses for Friends officers are now in use:
Secretary/contact is: Secretary@readingabbey.org.uk
Treasurer is: Treasurer@readingabbey.org.uk



Meetings are held twice yearly in Reading, on Friday evenings or Saturday afternoons, when lectures are given by specialists on the life of the Abbey and on the most recent developments. Members receive three Newsletters per year. Other occasional events take place. There is a small annual membership fee.

Original Web design by Sylvia Chumbley. Current webmaster - Doug Beaumont





The Lord Lieutenant of Berkshire
The Right Worshipful the Mayor of Reading
The Right Reverend the Bishop of Reading
The Abbot of Douai
The MP for Reading East
The MP for Reading West
The Vice-Chancellor of Reading University


President: Professor Brian Kemp
Vice-Presidents: Leslie Cram, Janet Bond
Chairman: Peter Durrant
Secretary: John Painter
Treasurer: Iris Hunt
Newsletter Editor: Dianne Sykes
Committee: Stella Cooke, Doug Beaumont, Heather Young